COLUMBUS, Ohio – Buckeye wrestler Nick Feldman and Sarah Sue Morbitzer of the Ohio State women’s volleyball team were among 28 student-athletes conference-wide named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2023-24 academic year, the Big Ten Conference announced.
One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.
A redshirt freshman in 2023-24, Feldman, who hails from Quarryville, Pa., finished second at the Big Ten Championships and then placed fifth at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America honors. He won the Clarion Open, his first collegiate event, in November 2023. Feldman earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete and Academic All-Big Ten accolades this past year.
A Groveport, Ohio, native Morbitzer, a senior in 2023-24 who will earn her degree this summer, was an Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honoree throughout her career. In 2023 she appeared in all 108 sets and she finished the season with 260 digs to rank second on the team, standing third with 20 service aces. In her career, Morbitzer had 498 digs for the Scarlet and Gray. Diagnosed with a chronic heart condition two days after she was born, Morbitzer underwent heart surgeries at four months old and in 2020, which has led her to pursue a career in medicine. She is also a children’s book author, with her first release Sarah Scarbuck’s Heart Zipper.
Ohio State 2023-24 B1G Sportsmanship Award winners
Men’s Cross Country
Keegan Freyhof
Women’s Cross Country
Andrea Kuhn
Xavier Johnson
Men’s Soccer
Luciano Pechota
Women’s Soccer
Nina LeFlore
Field Hockey
Cameryn Forgash
Sarah Sue Morbitzer
Men’s Gymnastics
Tyler Rockwood
Women’s Gymnastics
Ella Hodges
Men’s Basketball
Owen Spencer
Women’s Basketball
Jacy Sheldon

Men’s Indoor Track & Field
Mason Louis

Women’s Indoor Track & Field
Aniya Mosley

Men’s Outdoor Track & Field
Hayden Tobias

Women’s Outdoor Track & Field
Nya Bussey

Men’s Swimming & Diving
Evan Fentress

Women’ Swimming & Diving
Mia Lachey
Men’s Tennis
Reece Yakubov
Women’s Tennis
Madeline Atway 
Men’s Golf
Jacob Tarkany
Women’s Golf
Faith Choi
Kirsten Eppele 
Men’s Hockey
Damien Carfagna
Men’s Lacrosse
Jacob Snyder
Women’s Lacrosse
Leah Sax
Nick Feldman
Claire Holtyn
Mitchell Okuley
Men’s Volleyball
Tommy Poole
Men’s Fencing
Diego Cervantes
Women’s Fencing
Karina Dyner
Men’s Pistol
Henry Leverett
Women’s Pistol
Katelyn Abeln
Men’s Rifle
Derek Keiser
Women’s Rifle
Paige Hollowell
Women’s Ice Hockey
Jenn Gardiner
Synchronized Swimming
Victoria Carlson

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *